Malice Mizer SHOCKWAVE ’96 Bonus English Translation

I usually don’t translate anything but songs, but I have some much needed free time, and this was something I wanted to do. I usually don’t do translations by ear, but I can understand what the band’s saying and hear them all clearly, so I’m not taking a huge risk here.

Anyway, this is a little bonus clip that the band included on their SHOCKWAVE ’96 disc. It’s pretty neat. Mana does some pretty hand gestures, Kami is nice, Gackt broods, Közi acts weird and Yu~ki drinks some blood. You know, just like a normal interview.

Just a little heads up, Yu~ki and Közi have a penchant for saying weird things. If you think what they’re saying makes no sense/ is off topic, it’s probably because they’re usually like that.

(Click here to watch the sub-titled video)

(Translation notes/comments are marked with an asterisk)

Kami:ドロマのかみです。俺たちの問いから関しください。出場

I am the drummer, Kami. Please ask us some questions concerning Malice Mizer. It’s time to go on stage.

Mana: (he doesn’t say anything)

Yu~ki: ベスのYu~kiです。私のと共に永久の途中…

I am the bassist, Yu~ki. You are together with me in the middle of eternity… 

Gackt: ヴォーカルのガクトです。僕の言葉を貴方の心で関してください。これからも…つ等

I am Gackt on vocals. Please allow your heart to relate with my words. After this, too… And so forth.*¹

Közi: ギターのこうじです。俺たちが個性成分ミゼルが集団が

I am the guitarist, Közi. Each one of us is a peculiar component, but together [Malice] Mizer makes up a [peculiar] group*²

*¹(As in, “Please allow my words to relate with you forever and always.”)

²*(This is my interpretation of what exactly he’s trying to say. For the purists, the original Japanese translates to “We’re a peculiar component, but Mizer is a group”)

Leave a comment